Veda Gyanam

We're open for new collaborations.
News to be updated weekly.

Bhaja Govindam – Verse 26, 27 and 28

Verse 26

कामं क्रोधं लोभं मोहं
त्यक्त्वाऽऽत्मानं पश्यति सोऽहम्
आत्मज्ञान विहीना मूढाः
ते पच्यन्ते नरकनिगूढाः ॥ २६॥

Give up lust, anger, infatuation, and greed. Ponder over your real nature. Fools are they who are blind to the Self. Cast into hell, they suffer there endlessly.

What do the wise people do and what the ignorant people do. The wise person, atmanam pashyati i.e. the one who sees the self not through the physical eyes, but through the eye of the knowledge. One who has arrived at the meaning of the word ‘I’ being awareness and this being the self or pure consciousness? That person is called atmavit or the person who knows the atma. First you don’t see it, but when you do see it, then you never miss it again. It is not like one day you see the atma and another day you don’t or called Achuta (that cannot be missed). It is like when you see a flower what you don’t miss is the light. After dark, you don’t see the colour of the flowers, because there is no light. When he sees the self, everything gets resolved in fullness and you have resolved your ahankara or the ‘I’ in the totality. The more you try to remove the inadequacies, the more you will become inadequate. Discovering happiness or remaining adequate is only possible by knowing the self and remaining happy or revelling in fullness. Niraivil Thilaitthal. Knowledge is the enemy of the 6 fold afflictions. These cause discomfort to the mind and are enemies.

• Atma gyana vihina – the person who is ignorant. Vihina means ignorant. Such people cannot be viveki and hence called here as ‘moodaha’ or deluded person. Deluded people are those who do not have discriminative knowledge of the atma or anatma, nitya anitya viveka.
• Te pachyante – they commit or incur. Pachyante in literal meaning means cooked or troubled, tormented.
• Naraka nigudaha – nigudaha means who get caught. Naraka means samsara or birth and death cycle. Our shastram also talk of heaven and hell or Swarga and Naraka. But for us Swarga, Naraka is not the end, only happiness is the final destination. Dream pleasure is an example of heaven. You don’t need a physical body to experience heaven in dream. Likewise, the heaven is the same concept mentally you enjoy or suffer but without any physical body. When you dream gets over, you return back to reality.
• Soham – is a maha vakya mantra just like the ‘tat tvam asi’. Saha+aham means the wise person sees the self. Seeing the self means the person has clear vision of the self. Does he see the self as limited vision? Saha means ‘that’ or stands for the lord, fullness, happiness, reality. Aham – I am that lord.

Verse 27

गेयं गीता नाम सहस्रं
ध्येयं श्रीपति रूपमजस्रम् ।
नेयं सज्जन सङ्गे चित्तं
देयं दीनजनाय च वित्तम् ॥ २७॥

• Gita nama sahasram – the bhagavad gita and Vishnu sahasranama
• Gheyam – is worth of studying or reciting
• Sripathi rupam – the svarupam of Lakshmi kanthan
• Ajasram – always
• Dhyeyam – to be meditated
• Sajjana sanghe – and get associated with like minded people
• Chittham – the intellect or the mind
• Neyam – worth spending
• Dheena janaya – to the poor people
• Vittham dheyam – worth giving away the riche.

Bhagavad gita has to be understood and the teaching should be known. It is not enough to know chanting of the verses but really you need to know the meaning of what is said here and how it is applicable to you in daily life. Associate yourself with people who are committed to spiritual life. Don’t get associated with people who are cults or just chant, eat prasadah, put a show. Wrong thinking, cult, getting associated

Namah means salutation
Tasyai means to her.

We say it 3 times. To that devi we offer salutation?

Which devi? Chiti rupena, ya (she who), sthitha (remains), vyapya (pervading), jagat (she pervades the universe), etad (this) , krtsnam (entire)

She remains pervading the entire universe, in the form of chitihi (nice feminine gender word, or chit in masculine gender)or awareness, to that I offer my salutations.

Regularly recite from the Gita, meditate on Vishnu in your heart, and chant His thousand glories. Take delight to be with the noble and the holy. Distribute your wealth in charity to the poor and the needy.

Verse 28

सुखतः क्रियते रामाभोगः
पश्चाद्धन्त शरीरे रोगः ।
यद्यपि लोके मरणं शरणं
तदपि न मुञ्चति पापाचरणम् ॥ २८॥

• Sugatha – the person is happy
• Kriyate – while doing action
• Rama bhogha – here the word ‘rama’ means women and not the word Rama. Rama denotes here a feminine gender and talks about a person who spends his time in the company of various women and thinks that that is enjoyment.
• Paschyat – thereafter
• Hantha – he feels sorry
• Sharire rogha – as he gets the disease which are related to body. If a person regularly visits brothel, or keeps multiple partners then he is bound to get affected one day by the disease and will repent when he gets the deadly disease.
• yad api loke maranan sharanam – thereafter he succumbs to death while still harbouring desires to live longer and continue to revel in this so called enjoyment or pleasures.
• Tad api na muchyati – But he never gets freed from. Muchhati here means freedom from the longing. Remember this person has died harbouring intentions to continue his merry making and this was the last thought. So naturally what happens to this person?
• Papa Saranam – He never gets freed of this papa karma as he will continue to take birth in the next janma and his Samskara will force him to continue from where he left.

He who yields to lust for pleasure leaves his body a prey to disease. Though death brings an end to everything, man does not give-up the sinful path.

Powered by

%d bloggers like this: