Veda Gyanam

We're open for new collaborations.
News to be updated weekly.

Chapter 3 Verse 26

An atmavit does not disturb people who lack discrimination.

न बुद्धिभेदं जनयेदज्ञानां कर्मसङ्गिनाम् ।
जोषयेत्सर्वकर्माणि विद्वान्युक्तः समाचरन्

na buddhibhedam janayed ajnanam karmasanginam
josayet sarvarkarmani vidvan yuktah samacaran

karma-sanginam – of the people who are committed to the results of action
adjanam – of the people who are ignorant
buddhi-bhedam – disturbance of one’s own understanding
vidvan – one who knows the atman
na janayet – should not create
yuktah – the wise person steadfast in the knowledge
sarva karmani – all actions
samacaran – performing them well
josayet – should encourage (the ignorant people)

The one who knows (the atman) should not create any disturbance in the understanding of the ignorant who are attached to the results of action. The wise person, steadfast in the knowledge, himself performing all the actions well, should encourage (the ignorant) into performing all actions.

Krishna says in this verse that this person (atmavit) who knows the atma, should not produce any disturbance in the attitude of those who are ignorant; those who are committed to karma phala. Karma sangis are those who have sanga, (attachment) to the results of karma. Lacking discrimination, these people are not karma yogis and Krishna was telling Arjuna not to disturb them (na buddhi-bhedam janayet)

For e.g. we might across some people who might say ‘why are you keeping on chanting ‘hare rama hare Krishna’ all the time? This chanting is not going to help you etc. etc.’ Such statements do nothing but create confusion as that’s what they know and Krishna says not to disturb that feeling or action. These people need to be encouraged to do Karma according to dharma and nothing more. But they should not be disturbed by being told not to do any karma, since they are not ready for what that really means. Enlightened people are called sresthas and can be atmavit and such people are leaders, but should not disturb the minds of those who follow them.

Just as you cannot alter the course of a river unless you do it gradually, likewise the direction that the person’s life is taking can only be altered gradually. A sensitive person, one who really cares for another person, brings about a change in that person by going with that flow, altering the direction of his or her life, little by little in a helpful way.

The word vidvan also means yuktah or the wise person. Even though such a person has nothing to accomplish he or she sets an example for others to follow. E.g. A vidvan does not pass a temple, he enters the temple offers prayers and may even chant something, compose a verse in praise of the lord. A vidvan is unto himself or herself, and does not really need to visit temple as he or she is dwelling upon atma all the time which is a temple by itself. Yet the vidvan visits the temple. In this verse, Krishna talks about the wise person being a Grahasta who does activities as per dharma, with proper attitude and sets an example to others because it is the best way to teach them.

his is true of our traditions well where the parents do the karma as prescribed in the shastram, leads a clean life, have bhakti for ishwara, treats everybody equally and helps other people. There are a lot of qualities which Krishna talks about in later chapter 12 (verse 13 and 14) hat he looks for in a person as his favorite devotee. Such a person also is an atmavit or mumukshu.
अद्वेष्टा सर्वभूतानां मैत्रः करुण एव च ।
निर्ममो निरहंकारः समदुःखसुखः क्षमी
संतुष्टः सततं योगी यतात्मा दृढनिश्चयः ।
मय्यर्पितमनोबुद्धिर्यो मद्भक्तः स मे प्रियः
1. Sarvabhutanam – with all living beings
2. Adveshta – without hatred
3. Maitra – with friendship and love
4. Karunaca – showing kindness
5. Nirmama – without the bloated ego
6. Nir-ahankara –without the sense of doership or as I the doer
7. Sama-dukha-sukha – remains steady when sukha and dukha comes
8. Kshami – the one who forgives and gives shelter even to the person who does ill things to him or her
9. Yogi – the person who is indulged in doing karma yoga
10. Sathatham – always
11. Santhushtaha – happy with whatever he has got
12. Yat-atma – the person who has control over his body, mind and senses
13. Druda- nischaya – the person who has deep faith in me and unshaken faith
14. Mayi – in me
15. Arpita manah – surrendering his mind to me.

Madh-bhakta – he is my devotee
Me – he is my
Priyaha – favorite person.

As you see Krishna lists this and several other aspects in Chapter 12 as to what is a wise person and who is his favorite devotee. We saw today about Artharthi and this person who Krishna mentions above is a jignasau or mumukshu.

Powered by

%d bloggers like this: